~ Maine Apostolate of Roman Catholic Homeschoolers

Mary, Accept Our Crown

Mary, you are the joy of those in heaven, the help of those on earth,
the consolation of those still burdened by their sins. may mary
Accept our May blossoms, accept each flower as a symbol of praise and thanksgiving! 

 

What a beautiful day!  There was great excitement in the air as everyone arrived for the May crowning. Families unloaded their cars, set up chairs, blankets, and toys.  The teenage girls set up a food table while the boys entertained the smaller children with games.

May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 004May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 086

As we gathered together, Mrs. Thornton led the group in a Consecration to Mary.

“Queen of our hearts, your destiny is meant to be our destiny. Teach us to love our God as you did, to love our neighbors as you did and, above all, to love our family as you loved yours. We consecrate ourselves and our loved ones to you with the ancient prayer:” 

and we replied, “My Queen, my Mother, I give myself entirely to you, and to show my devotion to you, I consecrate to you this day my eyes, my ears, my mouth, my heart, my entire self without reserve. As I am your own, my good Mother, guard me and defend me as your property and possession.  Amen.”

Catherine’s beautiful flute playing accompanied all our voices as we sang Immaculate Mary. May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 037 Immaculate Mary, your praises we sing.  You reign now in heaven with Jesus our King.  Ave, Ave, Ave, Maria! Ave, Ave, Maria!

May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 029As Christine, our first communicant, laid a wreath of flowers upon Our Blessed Mother’s head, I couldn’t help pondering a mother’s love. As an earthly mother, I can think of no love greater than a mother’s love for her child.  Now imagine how much greater Mary’s love is for all of us, her children.

As the sun was shining down on us, I couldn’t help but wonder what this scene may have looked like to Mary as she witnessed her beloved children singing to her, honoring her, and loving her. After the crowning ceremony we continued to honor Mary by planting flowers around her statue.

May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 077 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 076 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 075 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 071 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 068 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 067 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 066 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 065 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 064 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 063 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 062 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 059 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 057 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 056 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 055 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 054 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 053 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 048 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 047 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 041 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 040 May Crowning 2014 St. Bridgets 029

michelle heart signature 2

1 Comment

  1. looks fun!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

